Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC)

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) is an agreement among participating U.S. states to simplify the licensing process for physicians who want to practice in multiple states. Therefore, it offers a voluntary, expedited pathway to licensure for physicians who qualify. Also, the average wait time for license is 19 days with an average approval rate of 90%.

Currently there are 31 states and one territory that accepts applications for expedited licensure:

Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma*, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont*, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming

*Oklahoma and Vermont are not states of principal licensure (SPL). So, you can’t enter into the compact with a OK or VT license. However, you can get a license to practice in these states by entering the compact through another SPL state.

IMLC states

Future state participation:

Secondly, the states and districts below have passed legislation to be part of the compact. However, their implementation is in progress or delayed. Therefore, questions regarding the current status and extent of these states’ and boards’ participation in the IMLC should be directed to the respective state boards.

In addition, the states below have introduced legislation to join the compact:

Qualification for Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC)

To determine if you qualify to participate in the compact, you can review the requirements on the IMLC’s Do I Qualify? page. You can also schedule a free career consult with our team below or give us a call at 1.877.977.3444 ext. 101

Interested in obtaining licensure through the compact? Schedule a Free Career Consult

    Upload Your CV
    * Indicates required fields

    Proud Members of